The Holloys “No Where Now Here” [MUSIC][ALBUM]

I woke up this morning with a terrible hangover.  Yes it’s monday, but whatever that’s what days off are for.  I’ve been wanting to write about The Holloys for a couple weeks now, but I never felt in the right state of mind to do so.  Most people when they wake up from what I like to call “antics” hardly want to listen to something loud/ electronic and industrial.  I guess it might just be me but when I woke up this morning I cranked The Holloys most recent offering “No Where Now Here”… hangover gone due to overdose on volume.

The Holloys – Shape Shift

This band is from another planet.  I like this record because its rooted in heavy guitars and great bass lines with an electronic sub context making this disc danceable and just plain fun to listen to.

In my opinion this band can do no wrong, they are experimental making the music they want to make.  On this disc they have bouncy almost pop offerings mixed with heavily affected industrial rock.  The drumming on tracks such as “Love Echange” is exceptional.

The Holloys – Love Exchange

For the Holloys, that’s a sound built after excavating the overlap between the anxious (and sometimes aggro) post-punk of Public Image Limited’s Metal Box and the endless groove of Fela Kuti and the Saharan guitar music Sublime Frequencies so generously provides to the world. — OC Weekly

At the moment their website isn’t in the best shape.  Sadly I turned to myspace to gather more information on this awesome band.  I say sadly because I don’t like myspace.  I guess sometimes as fate would have it the bands I write about and I have something in common.  This is the image at the top of their myspace page.

Any band that would put something like this up on their own page is ok by me.  I’m not sure if I’m allowed to post vulgar stuff seeing as this is a family show, but that image is definitely an important look as to how The Holloys run their ship.  Reckless abandonment for the norm and exploration into the realm of controlled noise I think the Holloy’s have stumbled onto something here and I just can’t look away.

The Holloys – Let Love Take Over

The Holloys are appropriately opening for BATTLES at the Echoplex on May 2nd giving me and you an even better reason to go down there.

Usually this is the part where I tell you where you can buy a bands music, but for today this is the part where I tell you to go to download a bands music for free.  On the bands site HERE.  They have posted links for free full record downloads of “No Where Now Here” and “Art War”.  ** The site is under construction at the moment, but trust me the links will work.

If you need a little more persuation to download FREE music here’s the last and title track from The Holloys “No Where Now Here.

The Holloys – No Where is Now Here

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

