He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister [CONCERT REVIEW]

Last night I went to the monthly residency at LA’s Satellite Lounge which used to be called Spaceland or is still called Spaceland.  I don’t know.  I went for two reasons.  The fist was it was a free show and a good friend of mine asked me to tag along and the second was the self description of He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister on their facebook page.

Flamboyant Folk, Glam-a-billy, Circus Rock, Vaudeville Pop, Cabaret Blues. — HMBSMS

What the f-bomb?  Is this for real?  Could it be true?  Yes it could be true and they lived up to each and everyone of those descriptions.  And oh yea the band features instrumentation such as a TAP DANCER and an accordion.

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – How’m I Gonna Get Back Home

I’m not going to lie, I was tired.  It was late before they went on.  The club was pretty full.  After all it was a free show.  Hipsters were getting their drink on and a jazz band was tearing it up in the upstairs lounge.  Somehow I felt what I was about to witness would be something different and perhaps special.  People weren’t their to support friends at a free show and hear the same 6 songs for the 100th time.  People were there for a party.  After a brief set from a young French singer who had some serious “daddy/ anger issues” who slowly beat me into a melodramatic coma.  Even the odd drum solo she performed while yelling f-bombs about why her father and mother left or she was lost or she was angry (it goes on and on) couldn’t bring me out of my depressing music induced funk.  Needless to say things weren’t looking up.  HMBSMS took the stage around 11pm and played this tune.  What a wake up call.

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – Coattails

The sounds are familiarly awesome, gritty and fun.  I feel like I have been listening to this band for ages.  Thumping upright bass, thundering hollow body guitar and the scream of some lap steel with the aforementioned TAP DANCING/ accordion sound power… HMBSMS killed it.  The audience was definitely having a blast and the band didn’t seem to notice because they were to busy having a much better time rocking out on stage.  Living up to their self proclaimed Vaudeville Pop/ Circus Rock or whatever they said style the band performed one of the better 45 minute sets I have seen in recent memory.

iPhone pic, not the best quality…sry

Lead by singers and siblings (get it?) Rob (guitar/ vocals) and Rachel Kolar (vocals) dressed like a semi-homeless ring master and a weird hippy angel respectively HMBSMS ripped through their short set with vigor and confidence.  With a talented and interesting backing band including Lauren Brown on the TAPS, Oliver Newell thumping the bass and Aaron Robinson adding the final touches on slide guitar this band is a force.  At one point in the show the band members had all the lights turned off and put on masks in a salute to their macabre aura I suppose.

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – The House That Isn’t Mine

The night ended on a high note with one of their best songs in my opinion “Tales That I Tell.”

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – Tales That I Tell

If I was tired before I was definitely tired after the show.  My feet hurt from all the foot stomping and head bobbing.  After the show I booked it to the merch booth to pick up their self titled EP.  10 bucks well spent seeing as how the show was free and awesome.  They also gave out free USB cards with video and a tune not included on the EP that you can download for FREE from their site HERE.

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – Escape Tonight

HMBSMS is playing every Monday night in May over at the Satellite Lounge in Silverlake.  I suggest you attend and be sure to bring your dancing shoes and top hat.  Their nightly schedule for the Monday parties will be updated HERE.  While you’re there make sure you pick up the EP and your free USB card which will be updated each week with new music from the supporting acts as well at HMBSMS.

Here’s a little something extra from the EP.

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister – Extra

Last night was one of those nights.  Great new music.  I’m positive we’ll be hearing more from He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister very soon.  See you next Monday.

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

One response to “He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister [CONCERT REVIEW]

  1. Pingback: Here’s The RUNDOWN (4/29 – 5/6) [CHARTS] | The Beat-Play Experiment

Leave a Reply

