Milo Greene “The Hello Sessions” [NEW MUSIC]

Early on in my concert going career I found myself saying “yea, they won’t go on until 9.  We can skip the opener.  Blah, blah blah…”  Nowadays I say “I have to get out of work early so I can get down to the club and see the opener.”  In this case the club was LA’s Troubadour and the opening band was Milo Greene.  I was there to see Lord Huron who I have the biggest musical hard on for right about now so I was already amped for the show, but Milo Greene impressed me beyond belief.

1957 – Milo Greene

For those wondering this is how the band got together:

andrew knew marlana; he met robbie and curtis in school, and was introduced to graham at the greene house. andrew is milo greene.

marlana knew andrew; she was introduced to curtis, doesn’t remember how she met robbie, and welcomed graham into the greene house. marlana is milo greene.

graham met robbie over sushi; he was introduced to marlana, curtis  and andrew at the greene house. graham is milo greene.

curtis and robbie and andrew were school friends; robbie introduced graham to curtis, and andrew introduced curtis to marlana. curtis is milo greene

robbie met andrew and curtis at school; robbie introduced graham to marlana, curtis and andrew at the greenehouse. robbie is milo greene

who is milo greene?

Milo Greene is kinda like Hootie from Hootie and the Blowfish.  He doesn’t actually exist, but he makes for a really cool band name.  This band is very young but the fact they came together in such an organic fashion is interesting and it definitely shows in their music and live shows.  They have only released two songs.  One of which is “1957” and the other is “Don’t You Give Up On Me,” which I will post below.  Right off the bat I hear the influences of today’s LA music scene.  A little bit of Local Natives (o.k. fine a lot-a-bit) and maybe a little Edward Sharpe (o.k. fine not really a lot at all) brewing together creating fantastic harmonies and a light pleasant listening experience.  These two songs are driven by  poppy drums/ rim shots (gotta love those rim shots) and the airy guitars that support the out standing vocal efforts.  When I saw them live I was pretty blown away by the harmonies.  It drew me closer to the stage and I guess if they can do that with just their voices imagine what they will do when they put out a full length release.

Don’t You Give Up On Me – Milo Greene

I’m excited about this band.  They are playing a couple local LA shows, most of which are FREE.  Their tour page is HERE and you can download those two tracks for FREE HERE.

Do yourself a favor and try to get there for the opener.  You never know what you’ll stumble upon.  I can guarentee one thing.  I won’t be missing many openeres especially if they happen to be named Milo Grenne.

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

