Foster The People “Torches” [NEW MUSIC]

I hate Ticketmaster.  I hate Ticketmaster with the fieriest of passions.  With that said I also pride myself on being an actual “ticketmaster.”  I’m that guy who signs into the site like 30 minutes before a show goes on sale, pulls up a world clock and does a quick stretch of my index finger for optimal ‘submit’ clicking capability.  I’m really f-bomb good at it and rarely does a show come around that I don’t get a ticket or tickets for.  With that said let me introduce you to an LA band called Foster The People.  Two nights at the El Rey (one of my all time favorite venues) completely sold the double f-bomb out and I can’t get a ticket… anywhere.  Did I mentions the shows are in July?  WHAT?  After hearing their new record I can see why.

Helena Beat – Foster The People

At the time I found out about this band I had only heard one song and thought I would check them out just for the sake of this blog, why not right?  New band, catchy electro pop?  Great!  I’ll check em out and see what happens.  Embarrassing for me I’m jumping on the “Foster” band wagon a little late because they are massive in LA right now and gaining momentum.  I had no idea.  Good news is their first full legnth release “Torches” was released today.  Holy shit.

Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People

In 2009 keyboardist, guitarist and singer Mark Foster started making sweet sweet dancy rock pop with bassist Cubbie Fink, and drummer Mark Pontius.  They basically make radio friendly great hit potential music.  I rarely say that about any band.  All danceable fun songs.  Honestly there isn’t a weak link on this record.  Their sound is extremely popular at the moment and this record is a great example of a band using this type of music to their advantage.  ‘Waste’ is my favorite track and in my opinion is the best song on the record.

Waste – Foster The People

I’m pissed I didn’t know about these guys earlier.  I guess you can’t win em all, but what you can do is see this band live.  I haven’t had the privilege yet, but they are playing a FREE in store show TOMORROW at Amoeba Records (greatest record store on the planet) on Sunset in Hollywood.  I will be there seeing as how I can’t get a friggin’ ticket to see them anywhere else.

Houdini – Foster The People

Foster The People are playing a bunch of festivals this summer including Lollapalooza in Chicago, Outside Lands in San Fran and Sasquatch up in Washington State as well and a bunch of dates on their own.  Their live page is HERE.  Hopefully they are coming to a city near you.

If you like to dance, buy this record.  Simple as that.  If you like to pretend you can dance, buy this record.  If you like to watch people pretend to dance, buy this record and play it for them so they can do so.  It’s 8 bucks on iTunes right now.  One of the best purchases I have made music wise since the dawn of time.  To far?  Just buy it HERE.  Here’s the last tune from “Torches”.  Front to back this record is a party and honestly I couldn’t find a sour note throughout. NOW SOMEONE PLEASE GET ME A TICKET TO ONE OF THE LA SHOWS!!!

Warrant – Foster The People

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

