Cotton Jones “Tall Hours In The Glowstream” [ALBUM REVIEW]

After a week off from writing this blog I wanted to come back with a bang.  I wanted to come back with something new, fresh, fast and awesome.  I definitely got the fresh, new and awesome parts down, but the fast I guess is debatable and ok fine maybe not totally new, sue me.  Cotton Jones has been on my radar for years now and as we all know bands find there ways out of our thoughts no matter how good they were/ are.  I was reintroduced to them on a brief trip to Boston last week.  The musical heavens parted and I was reunited with a cool band with a mellow sound to reintroduce myself to on a laid back trip.  Doesn’t get any better.  This is Cotton Jones.

Sail of The Silver Morning – Cotton Jones

Cotton Jones is the brainchild of lead singer Michael Nau.  I was introduced to him as the lead singer of the band Page France in Boston and soon after he started Cotton Jones.  Since 2005 Cotton Jones, a solo moniker for Nau, has released either an EP or a full length offering.  Their most recent full legnth release is called “Tall Hours In The Glowstream”.  Released in 2010 “Glowstream” features the soothing harmonies and great atmosphere I have come to appreciate from Cotton Jones.  This folk record has all the elements I like to hear when I want to sit down, listen and relax.

A Place At The End Of The Street – Cotton Jones

I love the drums on this record.  Nice and loose with limited low end.  I’m addicted to the rattle of the loose snares.  They compliment the twang of the spacey guitars and the twangy drawl of Michael Nau’s voice.  The effects on this record in my opinion are very appropriate.  I sometimes hate when the vocals are flooded with reverb and delay is added to give spacey texture or they sound like your in a closet or oversized bathroom, but in this case it adds to the music instead of take away, which for my taste is really rare.

Most of this music tends to be mellow, which is awesome. However this is one great track on “Glowstream” which I do believe it a Cotton Jones jam.  The song is called “Goethe Nayburs.”  It’s completely instrumental and it features the horns that are kept quiet on the rest of the record.  It’s a great little driving song and after listening to this record a number of times now I think it’s starting to grow on my as my favorite because I didn’t expect it.

Goethe Nayburs – Cotton Jones

I don’t think I need to sell you on Cotton Jones any more.  They have an amazingly mellow sound and they are my personal choice for easy listening on a hot California day.  There’s just one problem…  They are on tour and they aren’t coming to California!  There tour page is here and they have a bunch of dates coming up so obviously I must insist you see them live.

Cotton Jones recently released a short 4 song EP in February of 2011 .  The EP is called “Sit Beside Your Vegetables” and I can’t find it on their site, but I was able to buy it on iTunes.  He’s my favorite song from it.

Egg On A Sea – Cotton Jones

Of course I wouldn’t leave you hangin’ without the last tune from “Tall Hours In The Glowstream” as well.

No Things I Need (Like Some Time Ago) – Cotton Jones

Buy all their music HERE.  Seriously do it.

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

