Behind The Board : Mick Cronin [Interview]

Q01 Who are you, What do you do & where are you based?

Mick Cronin. Producer, engineer, drummer. Transmission Studios, Drumlish, Ireland.

Q02 What album,track,gig or producer inspired you to end up behind a mixing board?

I was always intrigued at how sounds were made, Strawberry Fields was a real big one for me as a child.

Q03 Where did you study your trade?

I’m basically self taught. I have picked up some great tips and tricks from some of the people I have worked with. The likes of Phil Vinall, Karl Odlum and Richard Formby taught Me alot. I was never one of those musicians who left or started playing computer games as soon as they had finished their parts, I always stuck around and asked questions.

Q04 What advice do you have for any budding engineers out there?

Just do it, record on anything you have from a 4 track to an mbox. The more you do the more you learn.

Q05 What people in the biz do you look up to or aspire to be like?

There are plenty. Ger McDonnall who my band The Aftermath is a great inspiration at the mo. His jobs are so varied from classical things with The Priests to The Manic Street Preachers new stuff. His approach to sound is always get the best out of the song.

Q06 Analog or Digital? Tape or DAW? Outboard or Plugin?

I don’t think it matters anymore. The most important thing in any recording is performance.

Q07 What 3 pieces of gear could you not live without?

At the minute my new focasrite isa 828 pres. The old SE R1 Ribbon mics and a 57.

Q08 What do you think is the best mixed record of all time?

I think the first side of Van Morrison’s Moondance is absolute sonic perfection but most of that is down to the songs/performance.

Q09 What do you do on your downtime from Studio/Live?

At the moment not a lot but I do like  exploring exotic city’s.

Q10 If you werent an enginneer, what would you be doing instead?

I have no idea, I’d probably be on the building site.

Q11 What was your 1st professional album,mix/master job?

Hard to say as I worked on a lot of bits and pieces of albums but from start to finish tracking and mixing would be “Crimson’s Untamed Underground Unwell

Q12 What is some of the recent works you’ve been part of?

A lot going on new album by Matt McManamon from the Dead 60s. Really enjoying work with Shayne Thomas Byrne. Duncan Patterson album tracking just finished and I’m also due to do some recording the actor Patrick Bergin in a few weeks.

you can keep up to date with Mick on Facebook

By: Shayne Byrne | Beat-Play Ambassador Ireland | @shaynewithMWL | Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

