J. Irvin Dally “Despitado” [NEW MUSIC]

Longest day of my life, people.  First day at a new gig.  Not that you need to know/ care at all, but whatever its a set up for today’s blog.  I came home and ate a pretty nasty sushi roll from Trader Joes and oh yea I stepped in a pile of what I obviously have to assume was steamy french poodle shit.  Great work day, long, but really awesome work day.  Can’t knock the people who pay the bills.  I just needed to unwind.  Now I hate admitting this, but I’m going to.  Sometimes I sit down to write this blog completely inspired by a new band or by a recommendation that gets the ole gears a grindin’ but tonight I must have been at a loss, I scoured my iTunes library to see if I had missed anything or acquired anything new.  I HAD RUN OUT OF INDIE BANDS TO WRITE ABOUT.  Ok I really didn’t.  There are about 8.7 million indie bands in LA.  After like 8.7 million F-bombs in my head and out loud realizing that I would let down the almost 8 people who read my portion of this site (hi dad) I decided to just take a shot in the dark.  There’s a showcase at the Echo (my now favorite venue in this town) on Monday nights so I checked out who was playing, bought their record completely blind for 5 bucks and I was left with J. Irvin Dally and his most recent release ‘Despitado.’  Man I hope it’s good.

Brasil (adelir de carli) – J. Irvin Dally

I’ve been listening to this guy for an hour and I guarantee after one song you feel just as relaxed as I am.  His high tenor voice is almost ghostly.  It pleasantly interacts with the euphoric and reverbial (is that even a word?) guitar tones.  Did I hear a little calypso influence there?

This record has a mellow unpolished finish to it.  You know like people who spend a lot of time once they get out of bed just to look like they just got out of bed?  That’s the vibe I get.  The instrumentation and effects are well placed and with the support of simple yet effective guitar work this music hits the spot for me.

The Little Ones – J. Irvin Dally

‘The Little Ones’ is my favorite song.  A great opening for the record.  Upbeat or at least as upbeat as J. Irvin seems to get.  He plays the kind of music you can sit down listen to and get lost in.  The first two songs on the record are full bodied ‘indie folk’ in all its glory.  Toward the end of the record J. Irvin switches it up a little with a tune called ‘Think Red Yellow Glasses’.  Clocking in at 2:38 its a great example of how deep he is willing to go into the reverbial (F-it, it’s a word… my word) nature of his music.

Thick Red Yellow Glasses – J. Irvin Dally

Needless to say this music was a delightful surprise and a great way to end my day.  Perfect quiet music to listen to.  The man has a gift for putting me in a relaxed state, but like not in a weird, creepy, I hope you fall asleep to my music because I’m staring at you from a distance way.  It looks like I’m also lucky in that although I missed the show at the Echo tonight he’s playing the west coast for the next few weeks.  J. Irvin Dally’s tour page is HERE.  You can buy ‘Despitado’ HERE.  It’s five dollars so you basically don’t have a choice.  Before I drift into a foreseeable coma I’ll leave you with the last tune as usual from J. Irvin Dally’s ‘Despitado’.  I guess sometimes laziness turns to luck and in this case we all get to listen to awesome new music.  So until next time, good luck.

Shanidar – J. Irvin Dally

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

One response to “J. Irvin Dally “Despitado” [NEW MUSIC]

  1. Pingback: TopCast RUNDOWN (6/14-6/21) [CHARTS] | The Beat-Play Experiment

Leave a Reply

