Danielson “Best of Gloucester County” [NEW MUSIC]

I bought a pair of wooden sunglasses today.  I also heard a band called ‘Danielson’.  Both happenings made my day.  ‘Danielson’ has a great, fresh sound.  One part loud perfect imperfections  and the other part pretty rockin’ for a folky acoustic outfit.  Danielson is weirdly religious.  I am not however, so this blog with be pure music…

Grow Up – Danielson

Daniel Christopher Smith is ‘Daneilson’.  He has an ever revolving family of musicians he plays with.

“Danielson has, during the five years, let go (reluctantly, perhaps) of some family collaborators—namely his brothers Andrew and David, the percussionists, and childhood friends Chris and Ted, on keys and bass/guitar respectively. While sisters Megan and Rachel and Daniel’s wife Elin, the essential chorus for many a Danielson Famile song, still appear, the bulk ofBest of Gloucester County revolves around a completely new “team.”

His new band consists of musicians from in and around Gloucester County in New Jersey.  Evan Mazunik plays piano and organ while Joshua Stamper holds it down on bass with Patrick Berkery rounding out the rhythm section on drums.  Andrew Wilson plays electric guitar and the one and only Sufjan Stevens plays banjo which is pretty incredible.  Pretty awesome instrumentation and extremely talented musicians support Danielson making this record really professional, fun and exciting to listen to.

Lil Norge – Danielson

I like the “obla-di-obla-da”-ness of the tune ‘Lil Norge’.  It’s a fun bouncy little tune complimenting the heavy hand of “Grow Up,” which come before it on the record.  One awesome thing among many on this record is that the songs individually are completely unique.  I think thats what drew me in.  I listened to the first couple tracks because they were loud and in my face.  As I continued into the guts of “Best Of Gloucester County” I got completely swept away.  Each song was different in its own awesome unique way (I know I already used it once, but it’s true so deal).  The guitar definitely drives this record.

Danielson’s sometimes piercing vocals actually work with the guitars and the choppiness of the music.  A good example of this is the song ironically is called “But I Don’t Wanna Sing About Guitars.”

But I Don’t Wanna Sing About Guitars – Danielson

As the record continues it get a little quieter and quieter.  Songs like ‘You Sleep Good Now’ and ‘Denominator Bluise’ are quiet simple as that.  I don’t really know why the track list isn’t mixed a little bit better, but there’s obviously a reason in ‘Daneilson’s’ head.  Artists intuition I guess.  It’s not bad, but I just expected the end of the record to be a little bit like the beginng.  All in all it’s a solid effort straight though.  The song writing is fantastic and with musicians like Sufjan Stevens playing banjo on your record ‘Danielson’ holds his music to a very high standard.  This is the bands fifth release and although I can’t speak for their prior releases I will say that “Best of Gloucester County” is worth while feel good music to listen to.  With that said I’ll leave you with a soft end to the record, “Hosanna in the Forest”

Hosanna in The Forest – Danielson

Check out Danielson’s tour page for more info on that although it doesn’t look like they have anything coming up too soon.  Do yourself a favor and download “Best of Gloucester County” HERE.  I guess it must be the old punch your listener in the face and then play quiet nice music to relax them and get them to forgive you method.  For me it’s working.  I forgive you.

PS.  I got to include this video of “Did I Step On Your Trumpet”.  It’s so wierd.

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

