Left Lane Cruiser “Junkyard Speed Ball” [NEW MUSIC]

So I was at the liquor store today buying myself some delicious treats.  I sauntered though the whiskey and bourbon aisle perusing the selection.  Wasn’t in the mood.  Last night wasn’t supposed to be one of those “what the hell happened and why do I have a tattoo of a ninja turtle on my rear end” kind of nights.  I got home and saw a text that read “Left Lane Cruiser, get after it.”  Checked my e-mail and there was a zip file with the same title.  I listened, without a word walked across the street, bought every single bottle of whiskey they had in stock and yelled “Cowabunga!” while a man named “Sneaky Dave” drew a terrible rendition of Michaelanglo on my ass just because I already knew where this night was going.  This is the blues, this is loud, this is Left Lane Cruiser.

Set Me Down – Left Lane Cruiser

Am I right or am I right?

This whiskey fueled two-man frenzy of blues-driven rock’n’roll noise straight from Fort Wayne, Indiana promise to hit you like a shock wave and show you a foot-stompin’ good time.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  With Freddie J IV completely shredding on guitar and Brenn “Sausage Paw” Beck on “drums, trash and hollering” this two man duo is a machine that will chew you up and spit you out without hesitation or effort.  They have released 4 records and their most recent record “Junkyard Speedball” is a complete monster.  If your going to call a record “Junkyard Speed Ball” it better be fast, it better have raw emotion, it better have grit and it better have… well I’ll just let them show you.  They would have punched me in the face for talking to much already anyway.

Justify – Left Lane Cruiser

There’s not much I have to say that the band hasn’t already said.  The gritty vocals, the DIRTY DIRTY DIRTY guitar, the pounding drums and the trash just come together and make me cross-eyed with pleasure.  The volume is awesome, this is good mood blues at 100 miles per hour.

I’d definitely compare these guys to the likes of ‘The Black Keys’ because they have that same two man dynamic with no bass guitar.  I would ‘un-compare’ them to ‘The Black Keys’ because I hate having to make comparisons in the first place and these guys are just different.  Yes the instrumentation is the same.  Left Lane Cruiser is fast, faster than everyone else.  They have a certain whiskey fueled anger to their music.  They site the North Mississippi Hill Country Blues as an influence.  I’m already familiar with the Dickinson Family and the North Mississippi All Stars (you should be too) and man does that just click and make sense.  This song is called “Big Momma.”  Time for 5 more shots.

Big Momma – Left Lane Cruiser

So basically all I have to say is, you’re welcome.  If you like rock and you like the blues Left Lane Cruiser is for you.  Honestly I haven’t been this excited about a band in a while.  Go out and buy their music.  They are on iTunes HERE.  I received the “Junkyard Speed Ball” from a friend, but I definitely coughed up a couple bucks to hear what else these guys have to say and trust me its worth it.  They are currently bar hoping and playing a bunch of smaller festivals in the Mid West.  Tour page is HERE.   If you live there I envy you like I have never envied anything before.  This band will give you a hangover.  This band is heavy.  Enjoy.

Heavy – Left Lane Cruiser

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

