J. Roddy Walston and the Business [NEW MUSIC]

You ever go to a bar, walk in, musics blaring and sadly its just a crappy cover band bangin’ away in the corner and like 20 drunk local- yokels destroying pints over in the other corner nodding along to the bands fifth time playing a slurred “Proud Mary” with one extremely unattractive -poor excuse for a truck drivers wife- dancing alone in the middle of the floor?  Then you punch yourself in the face for paying Cletus a pointless 5 dollar cover at the door and just take the loss and walk out?  Well that doesn’t happen often, but when it does it’s just the complete and utter worst thing in the whole world.  I don’t mean to go all “Martin Luther King Jr.” on you but, I have a dream.  I have a dream that one day I will walk into the shadyest of dive bars, pay 5 dollar cover to Cletus and right before I punch my self in the face I will hear sweet sounds J. Roddy Walston and the Business.  Get after it.

Used to Did – J. Roddy Walston and the Business

With that said Baltimore’s J. Roddy Walston and the Business are the real deal.  They are loud and in your face.  Great piano, great guitars and J. Roddy himself has an awesomely distinct voice.  That first track I posted for you is the third track on their self titled release which came out about a year ago.  The next track I’m going to post is how the record opens.  It’s arguably one of my favorite songs in existence at the moment.  It’s called “Don’t Break The Needle” and if this doesn’t make you want to hear more you’re not human.

Don’t Break The Needle – J. Roddy Walston and the Business

J. Roddy Walston is backed by Billy C. Gordon on guitar with Steve “The Sleeve” Colmus (Drums) and Logan Davis (Bass) holding it down in the rhythm section.  They play rock and roll, simple as that.  This record is really outstanding.  Song after song I find myself not only getting lost in the music but nodding along the whole way.  As I said before J. Roddy has a distinct voice.  I think his voice completely makes this record.

His high energy matches the high octane of the band.  The rhythms are relentless and catchy.  If you like rock and roll and you need some music to throw on to keep a dying party going at say 3am I think you might find refuge in this record.

Full Growing Man – J. Roddy Walston and The Business

J. Roddy is playing The Satellite in Silverlake tomorrow night in LA.  I’ll be going.  I’ll be the guy right up front dancing my ass off.  If you want to dance come find me I’ll be hard to miss.  I’ll be dancing hardest to this song.

Brave Man’s Death – J. Roddy Walston and The Business

The band is currently in the middle of a US tour which looks like it stops at Austin City Limits.  Their tour page is HERE.  You can buy their self titled release HERE.  It’s only 7 bucks.  If you don’t buy it you are a stupid.

Next time you walk into a bar after paying a cover you regret and you’re about to punch yourself in the face.  Pull your iProduct out of your pocket and crank ‘J. Roddy Walston and The Business’ and pretend the poor excuse for a band is as good as them, which is impossible.  This band is going to be huge.  MARK MY WORDS.  Here’s the last track and a video.  And oh yea, a cover of my favorite Queen song, “Fat Bottomed Girls.” with a drunk guy singing in the background.  Boom.

Use Your Language – J. Roddy Walston and The Business

Qualities not terribly amazing, but you get the point.  Enjoy

By: Steve Rippin | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles | @stevewithMWL|Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

