Digital Native Tongues

For whatever reason, I equate a lot of my experiences as a Beat-Play company member to several verses and hooks in my favorite songs.  I was born in ’77.  So, that sweet spot has EVERYTHING to do with A Tribe Called Quest, Wu-Tang Clan, The Jungle Brothers, Freestyle music, Gang Starr, Rakim, Big Pun, Biggie, and all of the other greats.  If you’re feeling me on this already, then read on.  If you’re a bit hesitant, then I invite you to step in; and understand why these pioneers have laid the foundation for elevated thinking and prosperous language skills.

And it goes a little something like this….

Lyrics from A Tribe Called Quest’s “Steve Biko”

Q-Tip simply rips it with:

Okay
I am recognizing that the voice inside my head
Is urging me to be myself but never follow someone else
Because opinions are like voices
We all have a different kind
So just clean out all of your ears
These are my views and you will find that
We revolutionize over the kick and the snare
The ghetto vocalist is on a state-wide tear
Soon to be the continent and then the freakin globe
Theres room for it all as we mingle at the ball
We welcome competion cuz it doesnt make one lazy or worn
We gotta work hard, you know the damn card
Try to be the fattest is the level that we strive
Try to be the fattest also to stay alive

This is the feeling and the passion that is communicated in every single one of our meetings.  Whether we’re tawkin’ about our Creative Designs, our Integrated Marketing plans, our Social Media tactics, our Web Development, or whatever.  We’re very fortunate to have a really strong support network.  This is a team of entrepreneurs and innovators.  There’s a magical chemistry that we’re brewing.

I remember when I first heard Tip spit this verse, I always knew that he would forever be a voice that leads a generation.  This verse kills in more ways than one.  4 highly essential things happen in one key exchange.  First, Phife’s dish to Q-Tip is classic:

Tip educate ‘em, my rhymes are strictly taboo

Fill ‘em with some fantasies and I’ll look out like Tattoo

Then DJ Ali Shaheed Muhammad just completely destroys it with the phattest jabs; he stabbed that record.    Then, Tip’s lyrics ignite the beast in just about anyone that takes their shit serious.  Peep the talented tempo and the BPM’s.  Fuckin’ Genius!  Finally, the Delivery is just pure HIP HOP.  That’s what’s up, and that’s what we’re all about.

*{pick it up @ 2:45}

 By: David Botero | Harrisburg | @DavewithMWL | Beat-Play & Music Without Labels, LLC

Leave a Reply

