Transit – “Long Lost Friends” [VIDEO]

Narrative: None.

Performance: In front of friends at a recording studio.

Song: The reason I’m posting this.  “Long Lost Friends” is the single from their upcoming album Listen and Forgive, a release that just might be the next big thing.

Why You Should Watch It: There are days I wish I was back on the East Coast, basking my bones in the chill of fall and spending most of my time wandering around clubs and basements in search of my next music fix, and there are days where I have to stop myself from packing up and moving.  The day I first heard this track was one of the latter.  Hailing from Boston, Transit has been peddling their hardcore influenced grown-up pop-punk for a few years now and I’ve been a casual fan ever since I heard the bar-burner “Please Head North” on their split with Man Overboard in 2009.

Still, through two more LPs and a two track EP, they never telegraphed this kind of maturation in sound.  Where they once favored pure fire and grit, they ‘ve focused and tightened their emotion and energy into mathy guitars and round, thick production.  It’s so crisp, so clean, so…American Football.  With hooks.  And catchy melodies.  Like The Early November meets American Football.  You don’t know American Footabll?  Come, child:

I dare you to get that riff out of your head.  Just kidding, you can’t.  You can only listen to every other track they’ve ever released and wish they’d recorded more.  They released one EP and one LP, both self-titled and both worthy of their own individual posts.

Oh, back on topic, Transit covered that song!

Also, because they’ve got giant balls, they covered “Born In the USA”.

Did The Boss’ sense of melody and scale take hold of their young minds?  Did they get locked in a room with “Never Meant” and the Goo Goo Dolls’ discography on repeat?  We may never know the truth, but the album drops Oct. 4th and features a guest appearance from Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy.  If it packs the same punch as the single from end to end, I think I’ll have my soundtrack to fall 2011, and a whole lotta kids are gonna have a new favorite record.

Chris Cullari | Beat-Play Ambassador Los Angeles |@Chris_Cullari | Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC |
Leave a Reply

