Giuliano Baglioni : Behind The Board [INTERVIEW]

Q01 Who are you, What do you do & where are you based?

My name is Giuliano Baglioni and I’m a producer/engineer based in Canada

Q02 What album,track,gig or producer inspired you to end up behind a mixing board.

In Through The Outdoor -(Led Zeppelin)

Breakfast in America-(Supertramp)

My Way- (Elvis Presley)

were albums around the house that I was exposed to at a young age and I remember listening to, In Through The Outdoor during the summers not even knowing anything about the band, just liked the sound of the drums, guitars and songs overall. Fast forward some years and discovered one producer in particular with a signature to his sound, (Daniel Lanois) which is, big ,warm and dimensional.

Q03 Where did you study your trade?

I’m self taught

Q04 What advice do you have for any budding engineers out there?

Learn as much as you can and be well versed around a studio environment, ie, tuning guitars, repairing cables ,cleaning parts in an analog mixer and most important,,,trouble shooting.

Q05 What people in the biz do you look up to or aspire to be like?

Well one of my favorites is Jimmy Page, not only as a guitarist but also composer and producer

Q06 Analog or Digital? Tape or DAW? Outboard or Plugin?

There’s pro’s and cons but a good balance of both for me

Q07 What 3 pieces of gear could you not live without?

I would have to say guitar’s first for me, then studio gear would be my

1960 compressor

the 1176 compressor

and Neve 1073 pre -amp.

Q08 What do you think is the best mixed record of all time?

Hard question to answer, there’s so many and the production is a big part of it but some of my favorites are –

Wrecking Ball (Emmylou Harris)

Robbie Robertson -self tilted

Passion (Peter Gabriel)

Mustt Mustt (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan)

Audioslave (Revelations)

Freddie Mercury (Barcelona)

Raising Sand (Robert Plant, Alison Krauss)

Q09 What do you do on your downtime from Studio/Live?

I like traveling when I get the chance and escaping to my cousins cottage, north country

Q10 If you werent an engineer, what would you be doing instead?

Good question, I’m sure I’d being doing something in the music field

Q11 What was your 1st professional album,mix/master job?

It was the recording studio, learning the trade and then having invites, starting with Temptation by Holly Cole.

Q12 What is some of the recent works you’ve been part of?

Actually my recent work, which is not pressed yet is with Ireland’s dREA, former front man of (Vesta Varro) and is set to be released in the new year.

By: Shayne Byrne | Beat-Play Ambassador Ireland | @shaynewithMWL | Music Without Labels & Beat-Play, LLC

Leave a Reply

